Open House Races in NoVa Already Crowded

by Jeanine Martin

Here are the candidates so far in the 2024 election for open seats in the U.S. House of Representatives in the 7th District, currently held by Democrat Abigail Spanberger, and in the 10th District, currently held by Democrat Jennifer Wexton:

Virginia’s 10th district

Del. Michelle Maldonado (D-Manassas) is the latest to announce her candidacy in the crowded Democrat field competing for the nomination for Congress in the 10th district.

Other Democrats running in the 10th are:

Eileen Filler Corn (D-Fairfax), former Speaker of the House of Delegates. (She does not reside in the 10th district but that is not necessary to run for Congress.)

State SenJennifer Boysko (D-Fairfax)

Del. Suhas Subramanyam (D-parts of Loudoun and Prince William). He was elected to the state Senate earlier this month.

Del. Dan Helmer (D-part of Loudoun and Prince William)

Del. David Reid (D-Loudoun)

Atif Qarni, former Secretary of Education under Ralph Northam.

Other lesser-known Democratic candidates include Brandon Garay, Krystle Kaul, and Mark Leighton.

On the Republican side only two candidates have formally announced a run for the 10th district: Mike Clancy and Brooke Taylor. Reliable sources say Juan Pablo Segura, who recently lost a run for state senate in rural Loudoun and Fauquier counties, is interested in running. Hung Cao (R-Loudoun) previously ran for the 10th district seat and lost to the incumbent Jennifer Wexton (D-Loudoun) who will not run for re-election due to health reasons. Earlier this year Cao announced a run for U.S. Senate next year for Tim Kaine’s seat. Now some are speculating that he may switch to another run for Congress.

Virginia’s 7th district

Rep. Abigail Spanberger (D-7th) will not run again for Congress because she intends to run for governor in 2025. It was thought that state state Sen. Jeremy McPike (D) would seek the nomination to replace her but he has recently announced he will not run for Congress but will focus on the State Senate where Democrats hold a razor-thin majority.

Del. Briana Sewell, Eugene Vindman, and Woodbridge Supervisor Margaret Franklin have already announced their intention to seek the Democratic nomination in VA-07.  Del. Elizabeth Guzman is also expected to run.

On the Republican side, Derrick Anderson, Cameron Hamilton, Craig Ennis, Bill Moher, and Jonathon Myers have filed to run.

Republished with permission from The Bull Elephant.